• About

    JaNanamation is a shared art blog between cousins Janielyn and Christina! While both have varying tastes in art, they share a keen interest in the world of animation.
  • From the minds of...

  • Receive email updates!

JaNanamation Sketchbook Challenge 02

jananamation02

Here’s another Jananamation sketchbook challenge! We decided on a character design theme this time around so that we have a character to use for any future character-related challenges 🙂

Challenge Notes

  • You can start from scratch OR use a character you’ve already created. Maybe you started making an OC but haven’t quite finished developing their look or personality. Or maybe you have a character you haven’t used in a while–try redesigning them or updating their look!
  • “Friend” and “enemy” can be interpreted however you like. The idea is to show how your character reacts to something they like and something they hate.

Don’t forget to tag your art #JaNanamation!

General challenge guidelines and previous challenges can be found here

Previous Post
Leave a comment

7 Comments

  1. Alright! I’m excited now! 😀 I think I’ll try doing this one, I have a lot of OCs that I haven’t drawn out yet. :3

    Reply
    • Yay! Can’t wait to see some more of your OCs 🙂

      Reply
      • It’ll be nice having motivation to draw some more of them. Motivation is something I severally lack. 😛 I’m glad my OCs interest you! It really means a lot coming from you because you have so many amazing characters! 😀 You’ll get to see at least one of my OCs that I haven’t posted anywhere soon because I’m using him for my part of the first MAP I’ve ever joined. 🙂 Have you ever done an MAP?

      • Motivation is hard to come by sometimes! It’s rather frustrating 😛

        That’s so sweet of you to say ❤ My Tam Team characters are all based on real people though, so they basically write themselves…I just draw them 😉

        What's an MAP?

      • You can say that again. 😛
        But still, you really have a way of bringing the life of those characters into your drawings. You can tell a lot about the character and the person they’re based on just from the way you draw them from panel to panel. I think you’re really talented with that. 🙂
        An MAP is a Multi Animator Project. Basically a bunch of animators each animate a part of a video, and, when everyone has their parts finished, the host of the MAP puts them all together into a single video. Most MAPs are done to make music videos that a single animator normally wouldn’t be able to do. It makes it lot easier to animate your characters with a song you like if you only have to animate one part. For reference, here’s the one I joined (it still has three parts open, by the way. 😉 ) :

      • Aww, thank you ^_^ It’s really a matter of knowing your characters well 🙂

        Oh, I see! Actually I have heard of that before; a couple of years ago there was a big collaboration of animators that redid a whole episode of Sailor Moon. I didn’t participate, but it was fun to follow the process. The project was called “Moon Animate, Make Up” and it’s pretty cool to watch 🙂 Just this summer another group of animators completed a second episode (appropriately titled “Moon Animate, Make Up 2”).

        The MAP you’re working on sounds cool 🙂 Can’t wait to see how it turns out~

      • I remember that Sailor Moon thing! It had already been finished by the time I heard about it, though. 😛 I didn’t know there was a second one, I’ll have to check it out! :3
        I’ll be sure to send you a link to my finished part and the finished MAP once they’re completed. 🙂

Leave a Reply

  • Projects

  • jan’s art status





  • stina’s art status







