• About

    JaNanamation is a shared art blog between cousins Janielyn and Christina! While both have varying tastes in art, they share a keen interest in the world of animation.
  • From the minds of...

  • Receive email updates!

Yearly Redraw

poirot

2015 was kind of a lousy art year for me, but I managed to revisit another old piece of art, which has become something of an annual tradition of mine.

So here is David Suchet as Hercule Poirot, Agatha Christie’s famous Belgian detective. I’ve just recently watched a number of episodes from the series Poirot (actually I blew through 50+ episodes in a little more than a month haha) and I am really impressed with Suchet’s portrayal of my favorite literary detective 🙂 Interestingly, I drew the first picture before ever actually watching the series.

The second painting is significantly more accurate, mainly because I used a grid system to map out the landmarks of the image instead of relying solely on my own estimation. I think the shading is a bit more effective in giving a sense of space and dimension, and I like that the edges are much more clearly defined. In the first painting, I sort of blurred the edges with a fancy texture brush; at the time I thought it added a bit of flair to the image, but I realize now that it was just a way to distract from my deficient skills 😉 Just a bit of the smoke and mirrors, n’est-ce pas?

I’m starting 2016 the same way I start every year–with the intent to draw more. I think maybe this time I should focus on getting better at one thing instead of trying to get better at everything all at the same time. If you would like to suggest something for me to improve in, I’m all ears 🙂

Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. Wow! I mean…Wow! The first one was already fantastic to begin with but…wow! It’s so smooth and refined! Like…wow! That grid system did wonders!

    Reply
    • Thank you! ❤ Using a grid is definitely a great way to draw things more accurately, but I personally find it a bit tedious so I don't use it too often :')

      Reply
  2. That looks great! 😀

    I finished my part of the art trade, and I posted the reference pictures for Rosko. 🙂

    https://strawberrytheglaceon.wordpress.com/2016/01/22/art-trade/

    Reply
    • Thanks!

      Also, this is kind of embarrassing, but on your post with your half of the art trade I never actually wrote “Thank you”. So, thanks soooo much for drawing P4!!!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Projects

  • jan’s art status





  • stina’s art status







