• About

    JaNanamation is a shared art blog between cousins Janielyn and Christina! While both have varying tastes in art, they share a keen interest in the world of animation.
  • From the minds of...

  • Receive email updates!

End of the Year

Whenever I’m in a slump I like to take old art that I’ve done and redraw it, because it helps me see how far I’ve come as an artist! There’s quite a long gap in time between these versions so the difference is pretty dramatic. It’s probably more practical to redraw something more recent, but to be honest, I didn’t draw very much (esp. original work) from about 2007 to 2012.

I was very pleased with the original picture when I drew it back in 2006, so much so that I printed it out and used it as my binder cover so that everyone could see it. There are still a few things about the original that I like, such as the clean lineart (I’m pretty sure I used the Pen Tool in Photoshop though) and the shape of the hands. I can’t say that I’m as pleased about the redraw, even though the girl is more proportionally correct and there is a better range of values…so it makes me think that making art that you are happy with doesn’t necessarily come from having good technical skills.

The girl, by the way, is a character from an old comic I used to draw called project Helix. But that’s a story for another time 😉

Previous Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Tell me more about Project Helix, please. *Gets big, sparkly, begging eyes*

    Reply
    • I’ll have to make a post about it sometime! It’s more than I can explain in a few sentences 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Projects

  • jan’s art status





  • stina’s art status







