• About

    JaNanamation is a shared art blog between cousins Janielyn and Christina! While both have varying tastes in art, they share a keen interest in the world of animation.
  • From the minds of...

  • Receive email updates!

The Bouncing Ball

Surprise! A post that has nothing to do with Pokemon!

I really don’t have much experience in the area of animation, other than what I did for FlowerPower (which were just a few simple sprite animations), so I decided to go back to the very basics. Supposedly, animating a bouncing ball is one of the fundamentals in learning how to animate because it is a simple way to demonstrate the principles of animation, such as timing, spacing, using arcs, etc.

This simple thing took me several hours (I’m still trying to figure out an efficient process to do these, too) today. Here is how I did it, from lines to colors:

I think I destroyed it with the faulty shading, haha ^^; I might re-do the coloring another time. At any rate, I think I’m sort of getting the hang of it…I’d like to do another bouncing ball animation though, perhaps one that is a little more complex.

If any animators have some suggestions/tips/critique, I’m all ears πŸ˜€

Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. I’ve attempted to animate a few things, but I never finish them. The only animation I’ve ever finished was actually an edit I did. I was making a Shadow the Hedgehog and Maria Robotnik AMV, and I needed a clip of Maria crying. Unfortunately, she does not cry in any of the scenes she’s in in Sonic X. So, I had to take a clip of her that looked like she could be crying, and edited it to where she was crying. It took a long time, but I’m happy with the outcome. I actually made a GIF out of it. I might have to post it sometime if you want to see it. BTW, I think that the next bouncing ball animation you do should be with a Pokeball. πŸ™‚

    Reply
  2. You are killing me! I was just finishing my storyboards for my bird animation and then there you go beating me to it haha πŸ™‚

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Projects

  • jan’s art status





  • stina’s art status







