• About

    JaNanamation is a shared art blog between cousins Janielyn and Christina! While both have varying tastes in art, they share a keen interest in the world of animation.
  • From the minds of...

  • Receive email updates!

On Art Improvement

Every so often I like to take an old art piece and redraw it. One of the hardest things about being a creative person is having an idea of what we want our work to look like, but being unable to actually match our work to our vision. It’s almost an unattainable goal — we work and work on our craft, yet that artistic ideal always seems to just escape our reach. It feels like we can’t get any closer, no matter how far we stretch forward to reach it.

That’s why it’s helpful to look back once in a while — even though it seems like we haven’t moved closer to our goal, we’ve still come a long way. It takes a lot of work and everyone moves at a different pace, but as long as we don’t give up, we’re still moving forward!

I’m not even remotely close to the artist I want to be, but I’ve definitely noticed some growth, especially over the course of working on FlowerPower. I learned a lot from being out of my drawing comfort zone, and I hope to continue trying new things so that I can develop my art skills further. The road to improvement is certainly long, but the journey, so long as you recognize that it is a journey, is most enjoyable.

Keep drawing/writing/being creative!

(You can click on my images to get the blank version of the meme so that you can do it yourself!)

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Wow! I’m impressed! I mean, you can draw hands! HANDS! Hands are one of my weaknesses.

    Reply
    • Thanks 🙂 Hands are one of the toughest things to draw for everyone. I still have a lot of trouble with them (I rarely get them right on the first try). The only way to get better is to practice, practice, practice, so don’t give up! 😀

      Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Projects

  • jan’s art status





  • stina’s art status







